

<u>For Release</u>: 10:00 p.m., Monday, June 3, 2019

<u>Contact:</u> Drew Blau – Chair, Non–Equity Wing <u>nonequitywing@jeffawards.org</u> Jeffrey Marks – Media Chair <u>media@jeffawards.org</u>

The complete list of Non–Equity Jeff Award nominees and recipients is also available online at: <u>www.jeffawards.org</u>

# RECIPIENTS OF THE **46**TH ANNUAL NON-EQUITY JEFF AWARDS ANNOUNCED

**Chicago, IL** (*June 3, 2019*) – The Jeff Awards announced recipients of the 46<sup>th</sup> Annual Non–Equity Jeff Awards on Monday, June 3, at the Athenaeum Theatre.

Top honors were awarded to Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre's *The Bridges of Madison County* and The Artistic Home's *Requiem for a Heavyweight*. Other productions receiving multiple awards included Kokandy Production's *Grand Hotel*, Sideshow Theatre Company's *Tilikum*, Jackalope Theatre Company's *Dutch Masters*, Broken Nose Theatre's *Girl in the Red Corner*, and Raven Theatre's *Yen*. Trap Door Theatre received a Special Award for "opening the door to an evocative and surreal world for 25 years."

Between April 1, 2018 and March 31, 2019, there were 144 eligible Non–Equity productions submitted for Jeff Recommendation. Of those, 68 productions (or 47%) were recommended, including 14 world premieres. There were 51 productions that received at least one nomination, which represents the work of 33 theatre companies.

The Jeff Awards has been honoring outstanding theatre artists annually since it was established in 1968. With up to 55 members representing a wide variety of backgrounds in theatre (including producers, directors, actors, playwrights, designers, professors of theatre, entertainment lawyers and agents, and theatre lovers), the Jeff Awards is committed to celebrating the vitality of Chicago area theatre by recognizing excellence through its recommendations, awards, and honors. Opening night judges include not only the members but also Artistic & Technical theatre volunteers (the "AT Team"), including Artistic Directors, producers, directors and artists from Chicago theatres. The Jeff Awards fosters the artistic growth of area theatres and theatre artists and promotes educational opportunities, audience appreciation, and civic pride in the achievements of the theatre community. Each year, the Jeff Awards judges over 300 theatrical productions and host two awards ceremonies. Originally chartered to recognize only Equity productions, the Jeff Awards established the Non–Equity Wing in 1973 to celebrate outstanding achievement in non–union theatre. The next Equity Awards will be held on October 21 at Drury Lane Oakbrook.

# 2018 NON-EQUITY JEFF AWARD RECIPIENTS

# ENSEMBLE

"Plainclothes" - Broken Nose Theatre

**PRODUCTION – MUSICAL** "The Bridges of Madison County" – Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre

# **PRODUCTION – PLAY**

"Requiem for a Heavyweight" - The Artistic Home

# **DIRECTOR – MUSICAL**

Fred Anzevino – "The Bridges of Madison County" – Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre

# **DIRECTOR – PLAY**

John Mossman - "Requiem for a Heavyweight" - The Artistic Home

# **PERFORMER IN A PRINCIPAL ROLE – MUSICAL**

Kelli Harrington (Francesca) – "The Bridges of Madison County" – Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre Missy Wise (Alice Murphy) – "Bright Star" – BoHo Theatre

# PERFORMER IN A PRINCIPAL ROLE – PLAY

Patrick Agada (Eric) – "Dutch Masters" – Jackalope Theatre Company Mark Pracht (Harlan "Mountain" McClintock) – "Requiem for a Heavyweight" – The Artistic Home

# **PERFORMER IN A SUPPORTING ROLE – MUSICAL**

Michelle Jasso (Elizaveta Grushinskaya) – "Grand Hotel" – Kokandy Productions Jonathan Schwart (Otto Kringlein) – "Grand Hotel" – Kokandy Productions

# **PERFORMER IN A SUPPORTING ROLE – PLAY**

Brianna Buckley (Lily Anne Green) – "Crumbs from the Table of Joy" – Raven Theatre August N. Forman (Gina) – "Girl in the Red Corner" – Broken Nose Theatre Netta Walker (Jennifer) – "Yen" – Raven Theatre

## SOLO PERFORMANCE

Sam Krey (Ryan Smithson) – "Ghosts of War" – Griffin Theatre Company

## **NEW MUSICAL**

Alex Higgin–Houser and David Kornfeld – "Haymarket" – Underscore Theatre Company

## **NEW PLAY**

Kristiana Rae Colon – "Tilikum" – Sideshow Theatre Company Philip Dawkins – "The Gentleman Caller" – Raven Theatre

## **MUSIC DIRECTION**

Jeremy Ramey -- "The Bridges of Madison County" -- Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre

# CHOREOGRAPHY

Breon Arzell – "The Total Bent" – Haven Theatre Company in association with About Face Theatre

#### FIGHT CHOREOGRAPHY

John Tovar -- "Girl in the Red Corner" -- Broken Nose Theatre

**ORIGINAL MUSIC IN A PLAY** Coco Elysses – "Tilikum" – Sideshow Theatre Company

#### **PROJECTION DESIGN** Paul Deziel – "Tilikum" – Sideshow Theatre Company

#### SOUND DESIGN

Petter Wahlback -- "Requiem for a Heavyweight" -- The Artistic Home

#### COSTUME DESIGN

John Nasca - "Grand Hotel" - Kokandy Productions

#### LIGHTING DESIGN

Erik S. Barry – "The Displaced" – Haven Theatre Company

#### SCENIC DESIGN

Ryan Emens – "Dutch Masters" – Jackalope Theatre Company

#### ARTISTIC SPECIALIZATION

Sam Hubbard (Violence and Intimacy Direction) - "Yen" - Raven Theatre

#### **MULTIPLE RECIPIENTS**

BY THEATRE	
The Artistic Home	4
Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre	4
Raven Theatre	4
Kokandy Productions	3
Sideshow Theatre Company	2
Jackalope Theatre Company	2
Broken Nose Theatre	2
Haven Theatre Company	2 (1 in association with About Face Theatre)
BY PRODUCTION	
BY PRODUCTION The Bridges of Madison County	1
The Bridges of Madison County	4
The Bridges of Madison County Requiem for a Heavyweight	4
The Bridges of Madison County Requiem for a Heavyweight Grand Hotel	4 3
The Bridges of Madison County Requiem for a Heavyweight Grand Hotel Tilikum	4 3 3
The Bridges of Madison County Requiem for a Heavyweight Grand Hotel Tilikum Dutch Masters	4 3 3 2
The Bridges of Madison County Requiem for a Heavyweight Grand Hotel Tilikum	4 3 3

#### SPECIAL NOTICE TO NEWS MEDIA

The Jeff Awards website, <u>www.jeffawards.org</u>, lists all current nominees and statistics, along with other Jeff Awards information and news. Photos from the event will be available online. Please credit Joe Mazza / Brave Lux.