Home  |   FAQ  | Related Links |  Press Room & News  |  contact us
Jeff Recommended Shows
Now Playing
no longer playing
Nominees & Recipients
Jeff Awards History, Eligibility and Judging Mechanics
Jeff Committee Members
Search Archives of Past Awards
Production - Musical  Large - Brigadoon, Goodman Theatre Larry Yando, Henry Wishcamper and Shannon Cochran  from Dance of Death, Writers Theatre Production - Revue - Ain't Misbehavin' - Porchlight Music Theatre Ensemble - The Seafarer - Seanachai Theatre Company New Work - Rebecca Gilman with Mary Beth Fisher from Luna Gale, Goodman Theatre Principal Actress in a Musical - Large - Susie McMonagle - Next to Normal, Drury Lane Productions Actress in a Revue - Renee Matthews - Old Jews Telling Jokes Malcolm Ruhl, Matthew Brumlow, Damon Kiely from Hank Williams: Lost Highway, American Blues Theater Scenic Design - Midsize - Katie-Bell Springmann for Cock - Profiles Theatre Mark David Kaplan and Sharon Sachs: for supporting roles in Les Miserables, Drury Lane Productions Supporting Actress - Play: Sandra Marquez with cast and team - Teatro Vista's A View from the Bridge Lindsay Jones - Sound Design - Midsize for Grounded, American Blues Theater William Osetek - Director of a Musical for Next to Normal - Drury Lane Productions Rachel Rockwell and Roche Schulfer from Goodman Theatre's Brigadoon

 photos by Johnny Knight / see the complete photo gallery 



Watch for the nomination announcement for the 42nd annual Non-Equity Jeff Awards.  Nominations will be posted in late April for the upcoming ceremony. Awards night will be Monday, June 8, at Park West.  Check back for announcement details and tickets.



See the complete list and the press release with all the details.

At the gala  46th Annual Equity Jeff Awards held at Drury Lane Oakbrook on Monday, October 13, awards were spread among numerous theatres honoring a season of outstanding productions.  

From Writers Theatre, The Dance of Death received the Production-Play award for a large theatre, along with its two principal actors Larry Yando and Shannon Cochrane.  The Normal Heart, presented by TimeLine Theatre Company was honored with awards for Production- Play for a midsize theatre and for Director Nick Bowling.  

Goodman Theatre's revival of Brigadoon received the large tier Musical Award, as well as Costume Design for Mara Blumenfeld, and Choreography for Rachel Rockwell.  Hank Williams: Lost Highway won for Midsize Musical, along with lead actor Matthew Brumlow and Music Director Malcolm Ruhl.  Next to Normal at Drury Lane Productions received awards for Principal Actress Susie McMonagle and Director William Osetek. 

In the Revue categories, Porchlight Music Theatre's Ain't Misbehavin' won for Production - Revue, as well as awards for Director Brenda Didier, and for the band"s  pianist and conductor Austin Cook. Renee Mathews took home the Actress in a Revue award for Old Jews Telling Jokes and John Hartman won Actor in a Revue for Depraved New World at The Second City.

The prestigious Ensemble Award, sponsored by Actors' Equity Association, went to Seanachai Theatre Company's production of The Seafarer.

(See above for the complete list.)

In a year of enormous loss to the theatre community, the ceremony featured a moving photographic memorial that honored 24 theater professionals  and was underscored by the cast of Women at the Verge of a Nervous Breakdown from Theatre at the Center performing No One is Alone, vocal arrangement by Michael Mahler.

The capacity audience viewed live performances from all nominated musicals and revues and video performances from nominated plays. The Equity Awards ceremony was directed by Michael Weber with music direction by Linda Madonia and stage management by Colleen Tovar.   Merril Prager, Wing Chair of the Jeff Awards Committee, served as producer for the evening.  Director Henry Godinez and actor Gene Weygandt emceed the event.  Following the ceremony, guests enjoyed a lavish Drury Lane buffet and dancing.  

Listen to the interview with Jeff Equity Chair Merril Prager and WGN's Dean Richards, Sunday, October 20, following the awards.




See the complete list of recipients and the press release with all the details.

"The Mother"  and "Passion"  took home top honors for Oracle Productions and Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre respectively Monday, June 2, at Park West during the 41st Annual Non-Equity Jeff Awards ceremony recognizing excellence in non-union Chicago theatre.  Oracle, with five awards, and Theo Ubique, with four awards, garnered the most honors at Monday night's ceremony.

Long-time Chicago actor and past multiple nominee Sean Blake joined Dana Tretta, musical actress Jeff award recipient and six-time nominee, as emcees for the award show, which recognized 127 nomnees in 24 categories from 66 Jeff Recommended productions, and ultimately honored 25 recipients from 14 theatres with awards celebrating excellence in all aspects of Chicago Non-Equity theatre.   Director and choreographer Brenda Didier directed the ceremony and Jeff Non-Equity Chair, John D. Glover, produced the event.  Diane Hires, chair of the 55-member Jeff Committee, presented a Special Jeff Award to Griffin Theatre Company for its dedication to provocative and transformational theatre for Chicago audiences as well as its touring theater that engages and enlightens youth throughout the United States.



Join us on  twitter  facebook
Now Playing
Equity Wing | see complete list
Les Miserables
Paramount Theatre

Outside Mullingar
Northlight Theatre

Two Trains Running
Goodman Theatre

The Mecca Tales
Chicago Dramatists

The Hammer Trinity, Part 3: The Excelsior King
The House Theatre of Chicago

Non-Equity Wing | see complete list
Balm in Gilead
Griffin Theatre Company

La Bete
Trap Door Productions

The Full Monty
Kokandy Productions

Jesus Christ Superstar
Theo Ubique Cabaret Theatre

Angry Fags
Pride Films and Plays

Dean Richards interviews Merril Prager

2014 Equity Nominees Announced

Jane Lynch to Announce Jeff Equity Award Nominees

"Jeff Recommended" indicates that at least one element of a show was deemed excellent by opening night judges. The entire production is then eligible for nomination for awards at the end of the season.
The Joseph Jefferson Awards Committee celebrates the vitality of Chicago area theatre by recognizing excellence through its recommendations, awards and honors. The committee fosters the artistic growth of area theatres and theatre artists and promotes educational opportunities, audience appreciation, and civic pride in the achievements of the theatre community.

Help us in our work of fostering high-quality Chicagoland theatre by making a tax-deductible donation. The Jeff Awards is a registered 501(c)(3) organization under the Internal Revenue Code.