Home  |   FAQ  | Related Links |  Press Room & News  |  contact us
Jeff Recommended Shows
Now Playing
no longer playing
Nominees & Recipients
Jeff Awards History, Eligibility and Judging Mechanics
Jeff Committee Members
Search Archives of Past Awards
List of Members
Officers & Executive Committee

Event Details Announced for Jeff Awards Ceremony

The Jeff Awards is pleased to announce final details for the 37th Annual Non-Equity Jeff Awards Ceremony on June 7, 2010, honoring theatre in Chicago not produced under a union contract.

Masters of Ceremony for the event will be past award recipients Frances Limoncelli and Kevin Bellie. Frances is a Lifeline Theatre ensemble member and has directed productions there as well as at other theatre companies in the area. Her onstage credits include appearances at Goodman, Northlight, Apple Tree, and Vermont’s Weston Playhouse, as well as Shear Madness at the Blackstone. Kevin is Artistic Director of Forest Park’s Circle Theatre. In addition to his long list of credits at Circle, Kevin has choreographed at Pegasus, Porchlight, and Serendipity. The ceremony will include an original satirical song written and performed by the Emcees.

Also featured will be musical numbers from three of the nominated musicals: Theo Ubique’s “Chess,” Circle’s “The Who’s Tommy,” and Bohemian’s “The Glorious Ones.” Returning to announce the ceremony is James Anthony Zoccoli from Strawdog Theatre, as well as director Ronna Kaye. Onstage accompaniment will be provided throughout by Music Director Linda Slein (piano) and Ethan Deppe (percussion). Projections design is by Jason Paul Smith.

The Jeff Awards previously announced 105 nominations in 24 categories for Non-Equity Jeff Awards, which honor excellence in Chicago theatres not under a union contract, for productions that opened between April 1, 2009, and March 31, 2010. The Jeff Awards judged the opening nights of 116 productions offered by 55 non-Equity producing organizations and recommended 51 of them for further judging, making those 51 eligible for Non-Equity Jeff Award nominations in all categories. This year’s Special Award for outstanding contribution to Chicago Theatre will be presented to Circle Theatre, celebrating its 25th year.

The 37th Anniversary Non-Equity Jeff Awards Ceremony will be held on Monday, June 7, 2010, at the Park West, 322 W. Armitage, Chicago, IL. Doors open for a cash bar at 6:00 p.m., with a light buffet at 6:30 p.m., and presentation at 7:30 p.m. Tickets are $35 in advance at www.jeffawards.org, $40 at the door. Festive cocktail attire is suggested and the public is cordially invited.. For more information contact Doug Bradburd, Non-Equity Wing Chair, at nonequitywing@jeffawards.org.

The Jeff Awards has been honoring outstanding theatre artists annually since it was established in 1968. With up to 50 members representing a wide variety of backgrounds in theatre, it is committed to celebrating the vitality of Chicago area theatre by recognizing excellence through its recommendations, awards, and honors. The Jeff Awards fosters the artistic growth of area theatres and theatre artists and promotes educational opportunities, audience appreciation, and civic pride in the achievements of the theatre community. Jeff members evaluate over 250 theatrical productions and hold two awards ceremonies annually. Originally chartered to recognize only Equity productions, the Jeff Awards established the Non-Equity Wing in 1973 to celebrate outstanding achievement in non-union theatre.

The next Equity Awards Ceremony, honoring productions presented under union contracts, will be held on Monday, October 25, 2010, at the Drury Lane Oakbrook in Oakbrook Terrace.

* * * Follow live Twitter feeds from the Ceremony at @josephjefferson * * *

What does it mean to be Jeff Recommended?
Learn more here

Support the Jeff Awards